Along with its deep-dish pizza and hot dogs, Chicago is known for its ridiculously fast and competitive marathon. This year’s race kicks off along Lakeshore Drive on Sunday, October 9, following a loop around the city before finishing back in Grant Park.

The relatively flat course is a favorite of elites aiming for personal bests—and if race conditions cooperate, killer times are in reach.

Here’s how to catch all the action, and what you’ll want to watch for in the big race.

More From Runner's World
 
preview for HDM All Sections Playlist - Runners World US

Sign up for Runner’s World+ to keep up with all of the latest marathon news!

How to Watch the 2022 Chicago Marathon

WHAT: The 2022 Chicago Marathon

WHEN: The races kick off at 7:20 a.m. CDT (8:20 a.m. EDT).

HOW TO WATCH: In the U.S., you can stream the race on Peacock (which requires a $4.99/month subscription) starting 7 a.m. CDT (8 a.m. EDT). For Chicago residents, the race will be broadcast live on NBC 5 Chicago and Telemundo Chicago from 7 a.m. to 11 a.m. CDT, and streamed on nbcchicago.com and telemundochicago.com from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. CDT.

HOW TO SPECTATE: Spectator information, including cheer zones and CTA stations near the course, can be found at the Chicago Marathon website.)

Race Schedule

  • Marathon Wheelchair Start (men): 7:20 a.m. CDT (8:20 a.m. EDT)
  • Marathon Wheelchair Start (women): 7:21 a.m. CDT (8:21 a.m. EDT)
  • Marathon Handcycle Start: 7:23 a.m. CDT (8:23 a.m. EDT)
  • Wave 1 Start (elite athletes): 7:30 a.m. CDT (8:30 a.m. EDT)
  • Wave 2 Start: 8 a.m. CDT (9 a.m. EDT)
  • Wave 3 Start: 8:35 CDT (9:35 a.m. EDT)

Elites to Watch in the Chicago Marathon

Defending Champion Seifu Tera Wants a Repeat Win

Defending winner Seifu Tera of Ethiopia wants to earn his second consecutive Chicago Marathon title aims to maintain his crown—but it won’t be easy. Tera needs to outrace fellow Ethiopian Herpasa Negasa, who owns a sub-2:04 personal best, and six men who have run under the 2:05 barrier.

Conner Mantz is the greatest podium threat for the U.S. in his marathon debut. The two-time NCAA cross-country champion recently won the USATF 20K title and won the USATF Half Marathon championships last year.

Will Emily Sisson Break the American Record in the Women’s Race?

Emily Sisson might chase Keira D’Amato’s American record of 2:19:12 set by in January. But even if the U.S. half-marathon record holder does run a record time, it might not be enough to win. Defending women’s champion Ruth Chepngetich of Kenya is in the field, as is 2019 Tokyo Marathon winner Ruti Aga of Ethiopia.

This content is imported from OpenWeb. You may be able to find the same content in another format, or you may be able to find more information, at their web site.