American Economic Association Announces Award Recipients for 2021, Townsend Named Distinguished Fellow

Tuesday, April 20, 2021

NASHVILLE, TN (April 20, 2021) - The American Economic Association (AEA) announces recipients of the John Bates Clark Medal, Distinguished Fellows, Foreign Honorary Members, and the Best Paper Awards of the American Economic Journals. These outstanding achievements will be honored at the AEA Annual Meeting in January 2022.

The Distinguished Fellow awards recognize the lifetime research contributions of distinguished economists. Since 1965, past presidents of the AEA are recognized as Distinguished Fellows, and up to four additional individuals may be elected for the award in one calendar year. Distinguished Fellows are selected by the AEA Nominating Committee and voting members of the Executive Committee, sitting together as an electoral college. A list of current and past Distinguished Fellows is available at

Distinguished Fellows

Alan Auerbach, University of California, Berkeley
Rebecca Blank, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Anne Case, Princeton University
Robert Townsend, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Read more at the American Economic Association